Dream 01-21-2018 Nosy Neighbors

Nosy Neighbors

I am new in a neighborhood, and am living in a condominium-style apartment (row of attached homes) with a friend. I have recently made friends with a neighbor, spent the day with her, and plan to have dinner with her later. I find myself somehow attracted to her, and am a bit confused about that, but hope to figure it out as I get to know her. I feel somehow “connected” to her.

As I walk along the walkway toward the entrance, I see my apartment mate is outside talking to some other neighbors across a fence that runs behind our row of apartments, along the walkway. They are gossiping about my new friend, saying some unpleasant, judgmental things about her. I don’t like it, I prefer to get to know people for who they are when they are with me, not from what someone else says. I feel sad about their judgments, and somewhat resistant.

I go inside to prepare for the outing. I’m feeling a bit stiff and don’t want it to spoil the evening so I go to take my meds, wondering if I dare take my pain med, or if it will mess with my head too much. I notice I haven’t taken my meds all day! How could I forget, no wonder I feel so stiff and sore!

I look at the meds, debating whether to take them all, to “catch up” then realize that would not be good, as that would double the dose on some of them – so I pick and choose which ones to take, and swallow them with some water.

(Still considering the pain meds when I wake up.)

Comment:

I did wake up with some pain and stiffness, my usual morning flare, but apparently it made its way into the dream. The dream started out as not-me, I was some anonymous young woman, maybe early 30’s, then it kind of morphed, not into the older me, or even into me at all, aside from the pain problems. Probably just the actual pain infiltrating the dream, making me aware of my actual body.

NOTES:

Setting: row of apartments, walkway

People:  roommate, new friend, nosy neighbors

Props:   fencing, daily pill arranger, pills

Actions: talking, getting ready to go out, taking pills

Feelings: feeling connected to someone new, sense of anticipation, disappointment in gossip, and resistance, worry about meds

Snippets of thought: how lovely it was to feel a sense of connection with someone new. Noticing my limitations, not wanting that to spoil things.

Leave a comment