Dream 05-06-2014 Movie Night

Movie Night

dreamI am in a movie theater, with a boyfriend. (I’m in my mid 20’s) We are watching the latest blockbuster, a movie I wanted to see, but I would have preferred watching it at home on Bluray, as there are fewer distractions. I do plan to do so, since the movie is one that is thought provoking and I want to absorb it without distraction. For this reason, I am trying not to pay much attention to the movie, as I don’t want to know what happens in any details.

At one point, I excuse myself to go to the bathroom, mainly to get away from the movie, so I don’t see any spoilers. I go out into the lobby, and look for the bathrooms, finally find them just outside the lobby around a corner, but in the same building.

A couple of women are washing their hands, etc. I am looking for a particular kind of stall, I check them, most of them are empty, but they are the wrong kind of toilet. I keep looking for something in particular. I find what I m looking for near the end, and go. When I come out, I notice there is a play area just beyond the sinks, and think it must be for parents to leave their kids while they watch the movie.

EuroStoreFrontsI leave the toilets but now I am outside on a small street with European styled buildings. I try to get my bearings, I remember turning a corner to find the bathrooms. I try to retrace my steps, but it is difficult, as none of the buildings are marked as a theater.

I finally see something that looks familiar. I go inside, and it is dark, even though I am in the lobby. I try to find my way to the doors to the movie theater but realize it’s dark because my eyes are closed. I can see vaguely through my eyelids, but not enough to find my way. I try to open my eyes, but there is a blinding flash of light. I try several times, each time is more blinding light. I am hoping my friend will eventually get worried and come find me, because I can’t seem to keep my eyes open for more than a second. I wonder why it is so bright! I try again, my eyelids resist me, but finally I manage to open them fully.

(And I wake in my bed.)

Comment:

The “boyfriend” was a blend between Freddy and Patrick, two ex-bfs from around that age, in my 20’s, before I moved to Switzerland. Not sure why, or what they represent. Interesting, though, that I was more concerned with being able to watch the movie on my own, rather than enjoying the shared experience.

The movie could be a reflection on the show I am watching now, Lost, which is a conundrum of twists and turns and definitely thought-provoking. Something I enjoy absorbing on my own. Interesting though, that I actually got lost in the dream, couldn’t find the theater.

When I woke, I actually did have a full bladder, so I guess my body told my mind this, and sent me to a bathroom!

The final opening of the eyes was a smooth transition between the dream and actual waking. I finally got my eyes open in the dream and there I was in bed, awake.

NOTES:

Setting: movie theater, lobby, bathroom, European street,

People: myself, in my 20’s, boyfriend F&P

Actions: leaving the theater, searching, using the bathroom

Snippets of thought: Lost. better off alone

Leave a Reply

